Our Board of Trustees

TMS has a committed and diverse Board of Trustees – all volunteers from both the school community and the community at large. The Board’s mandate is to ensure the successful fulfilment of TMS’ financial and legal responsibilities. Recently, TMS’ Board was heavily involved with the strategic planning process, providing input and ownership of the School’s next four years.

The Board is responsible for the selection, support and evaluation of the Head of School who is charged with ensuring the successful operation of the School including management, personnel and programmatic issues. As a consequence, the operation of the School is the responsibility of the Head of School, Andrew Cross, who, with the support of the senior team, oversees the daily operation, sets the pedagogical direction and implements TMS Board policies.

In addition to the Board, TMS has several forums for parents to become involved in the governance of the School:

  • On an on-going basis, there is a Finance Committee.
  • Every four years, there is a Strategic Planning Committee.
  • When the School is undertaking a major fundraising campaign, there is a Capital Campaign Committee.
  • When there are significant school or community events, there is a Fundraising Committee.

Deborah McMillan (Chair)

Deborah McMillan is Chair of the TMS Board of Trustees, a member of the TMS Finance Committee (a committee of the Board of Trustees), and member of the TMS Pension Committee.  In addition to being a TMS parent since 2007, Deborah is the Founder and CEO of Knowledge Makes Cents, a financial literacy academy for children.  Deborah brings a wealth of experience in the financial sector, as well as experience supporting a number of community non-profits as a volunteer.  Deborah graduated from Actuarial Science at the University of Waterloo and worked as a pension plan actuary for almost 25 years. Her daughter was in the TMS graduating class of 2021.

Kyle Kotak

Kyle is a familiar face within local and national advertising and charitable circles, not only for his charismatic personality but also for his extraordinary campaigns producing incredible results. As the President of Skylar Media Group, a powerhouse integrated digital agency, Kyle leads a team of over 25 to build strategic plans and creative branding for forward-thinking clients including Mercedes-Benz Canada, Alectra Utilities, Food Banks Canada, and The Princess Margaret Cancer Foundation. The dynamic Skylar Media team is known for generating multifaceted, data-driven and award-winning campaigns focusing on strategy and user experience. Kyle is a TMS Alumnus, and a current TMS parent.

Denise Luckie

Denise is qualified as a Corporate Commercial Lawyer who has specialized in general corporate and commercial law and securities law with a focus on mining and exploration. She practiced with a prominent international law firm in the UK as a corporate and commercial solicitor, focusing primarily on take-over bids, mergers and acquisitions, reverse take-overs and corporate governance, and providing general advice on directors' duties and responsibilities before joining a prominent law firm, Hennan Blaikie LLP located in Toronto where she practiced securities law in the mining group. In her current role, Denise has switched focus and now heads up the Compliance and PMO Department for a prominent international organization.  She has also recently been nominated for the 100 Accomplished Black Canadian Women - 2022.  Denise and her husband Nigel have a son at TMS.

Laveena Munshi

Laveena Munshi and her husband, Anand Doobay, have had two children at TMS since 2016. Laveena is an Assistant Professor, Critical Care Physician, and Clinician Investigator at Sinai Health System/University Health Network in the Interdepartmental Division of Critical Care Medicine at the University of Toronto. She is the co-founder of the Critical Care Oncologic Investigative Network – an initiative established to improve quality of care of critically Ill patients with cancer. Her research spans the areas of acute respiratory failure, critical care of patients with cancer and COVID-19. She previously sat on the Ontario COVID-19 Science Advisory Table. 

Yalda Riahi

Yalda is an experienced commercial lawyer with a history of quick adaptation to contribute within specialized industries.  She balances her legal knowledge with business acumen to support strategic and executive teams, and for a practical application of principles to multiple business functions, including, human resources, financing, M&A, leasing, licensing, negotiations and crisis management. Yalda is also an experienced board director.  She is a devoted participant of the boards that she serves including corporate and not-for-profit governance and foundation boards.  Yalda has proudly served on the TMS Board of Trustees since 2017. 

TMS has deep roots within Yalda’s family, with her husband being a proud TMS Alumnus and her children and nephews current students of TMS.  Yalda believes in life-long learning, having obtained her B.Comm, B.A. (Honours), LL.B., J.D. and EMBA from Ryerson University, York University, University of Windsor, University of Detroit mercy and Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto. 

Monika Samant

Monika joined the TMS Board of Trustees in 2019.  She currently leads Southlake Regional Health Centre’s Adult Crisis Team, specializing in providing crisis intervention and mental health services.  Monika volunteers for York Region’s Critical Incident Stress Management Team providing debriefing services to 911 responders. With expertise in mental health and crisis management, Monika sought to contribute to the TMS community which she and her family have belonged to since 2002. Both her sons joined TMS from the Toddler House program with the eldest now a TMS Alumnus.

Joe Thacker

Joe Thacker is the founder and President of Fusion Analytics, a boutique retail consulting firm based in Toronto. He has 20+ years of analytical experience and an MBA from Ivey Business School. A proud husband and father of three (and current TMS parent) he has a life-long passion for community service, in particular around learning and education.